Link a Change Order to an Estimate

OBJECTIVE

To link a Change Order to an Estimate in a ConstructionOnline.

BACKGROUND

Even after you've created your estimate and entered into a contract with your client, changes to the scope of the job may occur. By creating Change Orders in ConstructionOnline, you can account for these changes and keep your project's accounting information on track.

THINGS TO CONSIDER

  • Company Users assigned to the Project must have full permissions to create, edit, or delete Change Orders.
  • ClientLink Users assigned to the Project must have permission to view and approve/reject Change Orders.
  • TeamLink Users assigned to the Project must have permission to view Change Orders in which they're a designated Resource.
  • Change Orders will not be factored into the Estimate until Approved. 

STEPS TO LINK A CHANGE ORDER TO AN ESTIMATE

A. From the Change Orders category:

  1. Navigate to the desired Project via the Left Sidebar
  2. Select the Financials tab
     
    1. This will automatically open the Estimating category
  3. Choose the Change Orders category
  4. Right-click on the desired Change Order 
  5. Select Edit Change Order from the dropdown menu
     
    1. This will open the Change Order Details window
  6. In the Details tab, click Markup & Price
  7. Scroll to the right to locate the LINK TO ESTIMATE column
  8. Click Link to Estimate
     
    1. This will open the Link Change Order to Estimate window
  9. Choose the desired Subcategory and select Link
  10. Click Save

B. From the Estimating category:

  1. Navigate to the desired Project via the Left Sidebar
  2. Select the Financials tab
     
    1. This will automatically open the Estimating category
  3. Double-click on the desired Subcategory in the Estimate
    1. This will open the Subcategory Details window
  4. Choose the Change Orders tab
  5. Check the box in the LINK column next to the desired Change Order
  6. Click Save

TIPS AND TRICKS

  • To ensure your ClientLink and TeamLink Users can access Change Orders in the Portal, view Manage ClientLink/TeamLink Permissions.
  • Set Custom Project Permissions for Employees to control how Company Users are able to access and interact with Change Orders.
  • Only Approved Change Orders will show on the Estimate and be added to the Project total. Pending & Rejected Change Orders will show on the Estimate, but will not alter the Project total.
  • ConstructionOnline Invoices can only be created for Approved Change Orders.
  • Approved Change Orders can be sent to QuickBooks.

HAVE MORE QUESTIONS?

We're here to help! Chat with a Specialist by clicking the orange Chat icon in the bottom left corner or Contact UDA Support for additional options.