Approve/Reject Change Orders for Clients

OBJECTIVE

To Approve or Reject a Change Order for a Client in ConstructionOnline.

BACKGROUND

Change orders must be Approved before being factored into the Estimate. Clients can access and Approve/Reject Change Orders via the Portal. In addition, Company Users assigned to the Project with permission to View, Edit, or Delete Change Orders can also Approve/Reject them on behalf of the Client.

THINGS TO CONSIDER

  • Company Users assigned to the Project must have permission to be able to create, edit, delete, or Approve/Reject Change Orders. 
  • ClientLink Users assigned to the Project must have permission to be able to view and Approve/Reject Change Orders.
  • TeamLink Users assigned to the Project must have permission to be able to view Change Orders in which they're a designated Resource.
  • Change Orders will not be factored into the Estimate until Approved.

STEPS TO APPROVE/REJECT A CHANGE ORDER FOR A CLIENT

A. Via the Change Orders Overview pane:

  1. Navigate to the desired Project via the Left Sidebar
  2. Select the Financials tab
  3. Choose the Change Orders category
  4. Click anywhere on the desired Change Order 
    1. This will open the Change Order Details window
  5. In the bottom left of the window, click the green Thumbs Up to Approve or the red Thumbs Down to Reject the Change Order
    1. This will open the Approve/Reject Change Order window
  6. Depending on your selection, click Approve or Reject to confirm your choice
    1. If Rejecting, you can enter a Reason for Rejection in the textbox

B. Via the Change Order Details pane:

  1. Navigate to the desired Project via the Left Sidebar
  2. Select the Financials tab
  3. Choose the Change Orders category
  4. Scroll down to Change Order Details
  5. Locate the desired Pending Change Order
    1. Pending Change Orders will have a yellow header
  6. Click the green Thumbs Up to Approve or the red Thumbs Down to Reject the Change Order 
    1. This will open the Approve/Reject Change Order window
  7. Depending on your selection, click Approve or Reject to confirm your choice
    1. If Rejecting, you can enter a Reason for Rejection in the textbox

TIPS AND TRICKS

  • To ensure your ClientLink and TeamLink Users can access Change Orders in the Portal, view Manage ClientLink/TeamLink Permissions.
  • Set Custom Project Permissions for Employees to control how Company Users are able to access and interact with Change Orders.
  • Only Approved Change Orders will show on the Estimate and be added to the Project total. Pending & Rejected Change Orders will show on the Estimate, but will not alter the Project total.
  • Modifying the Markup & Price of a Change Order that has already been Approved or Rejected will revert the Change Order back to Pending status. To do this, Edit the Change Order, enter your Markup & Price changes, and select Save & Revert.

HAVE MORE QUESTIONS?

We're here to help! Chat with a Specialist by clicking the orange Chat icon in the bottom left corner or Contact UDA Support for additional options.